Something About Mathematics

I have two quotes for y’all today! First, a brainy one from a person who hardly anyone has heard of, Shakuntala Devi, and  a second one (not so brainy, but kind of funny) from a person everyone in at least the USA has heard of, George W. Bush. I should first let you know though, math is and has always been one of my least favorite subjects to learn about. It’s not that I’m awful at it, I just really hate the idea of learning it and thinking about it. However, ever since watching the show “Cosmos” this year and working with the finance department at my job, I have a whole new-found respect for all things mathematical and scientific. Without the world of physics and numbers… we would be no better than any other animal on this planet. It amazes me.

“Without mathematics, there’s nothing you can do. Everything around you is mathematics. Everything around you is numbers.” Shakuntala Devi was from Bangalore, India and was also known as “the human computer”. She was put in the 1982 edition of the Guinness Book of World Records because of her knowledge of numbers. Pretty cool for a woman born in the late 1920s.

For our next quote I pull on a native of our USA, George W. Bush. “It’s clearly a budget. It’s got a lot of numbers in it.” Although never known as our smartest president by any means, George did help where he could. Being the president of the United States of America is probably one of the toughest jobs in this country simply because of the incredible scrutiny they are under. No matter what they seem to do, someone is unhappy. How do you wake up every morning knowing you are going to disappoint at least half the population of your country with whatever decisions you make? I couldn’t do it that is for sure. That’s why, even though this isn’t the brightest statement made by our former president, I still put it up. It’s a funny statement…. even if he didn’t mean it to be funny. Ciao for now!

I HAVE TO REALLY STRETCH THE CREATIVITY WHEN I WORK 8-5 ANSWERING PHONES.

I HAVE TO REALLY STRETCH THE CREATIVITY WHEN I WORK 8-5 ANSWERING PHONES.

Leave a Reply

