The Rotating Wheel of Existence

“Life is a full circle, widening until it joins the circle motions of the infinite.”― Anaïs Nin

Now, I am a big fan of animals. Horses and dogs are my favorite. I have been around them my whole life. I kind of like birds too, it just depends on the bird. The reason I am bringing up animals is because today… I witnessed the circle of life.

I arrived at work to find a huge moth on the floor (unfortunately I wasn’t awake enough to realize I should take a cool picture). At first I thought it was dead and so I was just going to scoop it up and move it to the garbage. However, as I was leaning over… it moved…

Since insects aren’t exactly my favorite creatures to touch I asked a coworker, who had just walked in, to kindly scoop it up and gently place it outside. He was nice enough to oblige. However, right after placing it by a bush near the sidewalk, it didn’t move! Not an inch! So we went back in and kind of observed the next part. Before the door even closed this bird hopped up to the moth and very rapidly stabbed it in the gut! I was momentarily horrified. It was such a sudden death I had no time to prepare myself. Makes me wonder what the rest of the day has in store for me if a moth can’t even survive.

However, I have come to terms with the fact that this is the Circle of Life (here is the link that y’all are looking for) and there is no stopping it. It’s the beauty of nature. One beast exists to feed the bigger beast. Nothing to do but appreciate the time we have and make the most of our short lives before the Circle of Life catches up with us.

Animal fan...what can I say?

Animal fan…what can I say?

Leave a Reply

