Measure Yourself in Smiles

“I am beginning to measure myself in strength, not pounds. Sometimes in smiles.”
― Laurie Halse AndersonWintergirls

“Wanting to be someone else is a waste of the person you are.”
― Marilyn Monroe

Recently I have started my own spray tanning business in the Dallas area and although its slow going I have already had a mix of personalities who all have different ranges of insecurities. I read an article the other day in Cosmo (don’t judge too harshly, I found it on pinterest!) about the difficulties of being not only a spray tan technician but also a part-time therapist. Nearly every woman I’ve tanned has said something like, they probably aren’t “the normal customer” or “tanned fat is better than pasty fat.” It hurts my soul that these women not only think of themselves like that but they seemed more comfortable verbally picking on themselves and pointing out their flaws than building themselves up and being comfortable with who they are.

I suffer just as much self-doubt and self-deprecation as the next girl. I have those same self-image issues, so I can completely empathize with these wonderful women. However, I try my hardest to focus on what really matters: personality! Nothing else matters ultimately. If you are a smiley, happy,  and a generally nice person, I have found that people don’t care what you look like.

So when worried about first impressions or thinking about going to the gym instead of watching TV, remember to smile big, shake hands firmly and to go to the gym. Only hit up that place because you are concentrating on being strictly healthy. Gyms are hard too, but keep a positive attitude and anything is possible. Don’t go because you hate yourself. Love every last bit of the wonderful person you are.

“I am careful not to confuse excellence with perfection. Excellence, I can reach for; perfection is God’s business.”
― Michael J. Fox

“To ugly ducklings everywhere,
Don’t worry about those fluffy yellow morons:
They’ll never get to be swans”
― Zoë MarriottThe Swan Kingdom

“Confront the dark parts of yourself, and work to banish them with illumination and forgiveness. Your willingness to wrestle with your demons will cause your angels to sing.”
― August Wilson

PS. Sorry the photo is a bit blurry…I had to be sneaky taking it at work!

Don't measure yourself by other people's standards. Love yourself.

Don’t measure yourself by other people’s standards. Love yourself.

Leave a Reply

