Mountain Blues

“Candy is natures way of making up for Mondays.” ~Unknown Author”

Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better.” ~ Albert Einstein

This past weekend I was lucky enough to go on an amazing camping trip with my boyfriends family for his mothers birthday. We went to Palo Duro Canyon State Park over by Amarillo, TX. It was incredible! I haven’t ever been to the Grand Canyon but I would still be so bold as to say this holds its own against the beauty of that place. It was more spread out than I think the Grand Canyon is and not as old but just as breathtaking.

This place had those beautiful orange/red mountains that I miss so much from Grand Junction, CO. In my opinion they have more character than the usual mountains. They show their cracks and crevices unabashedly. There is a confidence in their stark heated existence. It’s as if they are saying to me, “Hey there, yeah that’s right. I’m old and proud of it. Now watch out for my crumbling rock walls!”

I always hear Native American music when I’m in places like this just whistling in my ear. There is something about a quiet, hot, wild mountain range that just whispers about another time and place. It’s crazy to me that so much has changed in this land in the past 200 years.

As for the Blues part of this post, I must say I am having a hard time coming down from that high we get after visiting a surreal place and having a surreal experience where no worries exist and everything is going to be okay. Adjusting to the reality of work is just a downer that I can’t begin to explain. We’ve all been there so I think I can just say I have the Monday Blues particularly bad today. I like my job but that place makes me want to cry because it’s so beautiful and I’m sitting staring at a computer instead of photographing more beautiful places and taking in the wonders of this crazy world we live in.

The mountain range that holds my heart in its unforgiving rocks.

The mountain range that holds my heart in its unforgiving rocks.

“Sane is boring.”
― R.A. Salvatore

Leave a Reply

