Come Alive!

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs, ask yourself what makes you come alive. And then go do that. Because what the world needs are people who have come alive.” ~Harold Whitman

Life is too short to waste. Sitting at my desk all day, every day is emotionally exhausting for one such as myself. I don’t have the personal stamina to do it. I am a creature who loves variety and striking out on my own. My job is fine and almost everyone I work with I enjoy, however there is just no way this free spirit can do the whole “work for someone else for the rest of my life” thing. The problem isn’t that I don’t have a plan or goals or that they are even unreachable. The problem is patience, but that is beside the point I’m trying to make.

If you people out there, have no debt or little to none (I say this because I am drowning under student debt, so I feel that pain with y’all) and still are working at a job that is just okay but doesn’t make your heart race and make you come alive every day then what is the point of working? We work to work… to make money… to pay our bills. This is necessary yes, but whatever it is that you do make sure its something that makes you feel alive! Don’t waste away just because if you quit that means you have to get out of your comfort zone and find a true passion to fill your life with. If working 9-5 does that at whatever job y’all are at… then you are a lucky one. Be grateful.

But those of you who are bored, distracted and wait for every weekend like it will be your last… get out! Get on a roof somewhere and scream at the top of your lungs, remember who you are and what makes you feel vibrant. If it’s sitting on some rocks staring at the Ligurian Sea is what makes you come alive then go after it as if every day is your last. Just my advice, take it or leave it. Whatever you do… do it to come alive.

Italy... the place my love of travel was born.

Italy… the place my love of travel was born.

Leave a Reply

