Freund, Cara, Amigo, Amico, Arkadaş, φίλος, Vriend, 친, przyjaciel….

To the people I miss….

I cannot even imagine where I would be today were it not for that handful of friends who have given me a heart full of joy. Let’s face it, friends make life a lot more fun. ~ Charles R. Swindoll

One loyal friend is worth ten thousand relatives. ~ Euripides

It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them. ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Friendship… is not something that is definable and definitely is not something to be messed with. These photos are of people who have made a lasting impact on my life. Mind you, they are not of all the people who have impacted my life in a big way but they are a few key characters. They brought the meaning of friendship to my attention, whether it was with me personally or I was the one observing their own lasting friendships. It always amazes me when I see two people who are so clearly kindred spirits and can love each other through everything. They aren’t someone you have to talk to every day, but they might be someone who you want to talk to every day.
I also believe that today having those kindred spirits around is rare. Living in a big city has taught me there are a lot of possibilities that come with a huge population but I feel it limits true friendships. People get distracted by entertainment and get caught up in meeting new people every day instead of cultivating friendships with those rare people who may have started a spark. We so easily ignore it and push past it because we don’t have time for it. “Life” gets in the way.

I’m telling you, there is nothing as priceless as a true friend. That crazy lady who is going to roll in a wheel chair with you causing mayhem left and right. Or that best guy friend that always kept your head on straight when having a female moment of irrational thoughts. They just mean the world to us. We all have known it and we all desire it.

I miss these people and I have loved them all for their special unique qualities that brought us together and formed a bond that even though there is distance between us and circumstances helped separate us…  that feeling of unconditional love remains. There is a bond that is formed that goes beyond family and reaches into that depths of friendship that we must never lose.

I have a feeling this is a bit on the melodramatic side but…. friendship really does mean the world to me and I really do miss these people.

People I miss

Girls I miss

PicMonkey Collage 2

In everyone’s life, at some time, our inner fire goes out. It is then burst into flame by an encounter with another human being. We should all be thankful for those people who rekindle the inner spirit. ~ Albert Schweitzer

Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival. ~ C. S. Lewis

 

Last but not least, my best friend in the whole wide world who happens to be my boyfriend. All kinds of goofiness to be had!

Last but not least, my best friend in the whole wide world who happens to be my boyfriend. All kinds of goofiness to be had!

Leave a Reply

