The Average Worker Bee

Day in and day out, I punch my card by pushing that “Time In” button every Monday-Friday morning. There are many ways I could look at this in a negative light. In fact, I could really easily focus all day on how miserable I am with my job and how much I’d like to be anywhere else and how no one values me, blah blah blah. But today I want to focus on the good reasons I am here.

There are the regular reasons, I have money coming in therefore I can pay bills. That’s always a good thing. My boss isn’t a bipolar tyrant who has gone mad with power. Another key to a happy work environment. It’s only a 10 minute drive to work! This one is big, because I get to go home for lunch and actually take a break and breath, even if it is only for 35 minutes. I’ve had jobs that I have to drive an hour to hours for and let me tell you…. there is nothing worse than commuting for a minimum wage job. Also, my coworkers aren’t all bad! I have met some very awesome people here who seem to enjoy stopping by my desk and shooting the sh*t with me. Believe it or not, Mondays have become an almost favorite of mine. Everyone gets very A.D.D and wander around most of the day. This means, being the receptionist and in control of the candy bowl, I get a lot of visitors who are looking to chit chat. On these days I learn so much about, not only them, but just people in general. I have found that nearly everyone I have spoken to, except the bosses, agrees with me about hours of work vs hours of productivity. No one likes being in a building from 9-5 wasting their time.  Its a different story if that whole time is productive and even that isn’t a good thing because that is 8 hours of pure work. There have been actual studies that people only do about 3 hours of work over the course of an 8 hour day.  Besides, everyone has their highest productivity at different times of the day. “Keeping free time scarce means people pay a lot more for convenience, gratification, and any other relief they can buy. It keeps them watching television, and its commercials. It keeps them unambitious outside of work.” ~Unknown. I’m not sure where this quote comes from but it was spurred on by this article my boyfriend sent me called Destroy The 40-Hour Workweek. Its just scary when put in that light. Life is meant to be lived. No one deserves to waste away like that. EVERYONE agrees with me on this. It isn’t even because they aren’t hard workers, it’s just because it’s logically inefficient. In fact here is a direct quote from a co-worker who is planning on following his dreams any week now. “So many people live within unhappy circumstances and yet will not take the initiative to change their situation because they are conditioned to a life of security, conformity, and conservatism, all of which may appear to give one peace of mind, but in reality nothing is more dangerous to the adventurous spirit within a man than a secure future.  The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure.  The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endless changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.” Great quote from an even greater person.

But I digress…… bottom line, learning from my coworkers is a highlight of my week.

Another highlight of my day is when I get off work at 5 on the dot and call any one of my family members. I change it up every day, so within a week I’ve talked to the sisters I’m close to and the parents I’ve become closer to as I’ve gotten older. I recently found out some terrible news about my dad’s health. He has prostate cancer and it’s not a good diagnosis. We still get several years with him but let me tell ya, I was planning on having more than just a few more years with my father. Being 22 I’m not ready to lose him. However, we have made the best out of things and take one day at a time. But the best thing about talking to my dad is that we can always find a conspiracy theory to talk about or my latest extreme interest that I just have to share with him. By the end of the conversation, we both need to get off the phone to get back to our busy lives but without fail my father always says “I love you.” Considering that every moment with him is more precious than ever, hearing those words is priceless. I know some people can go their whole lives without anyone, even their father, every saying those words to them. I know that doesn’t happen often but to have someone say that and mean it, is one of our human needs that, in my opinion, must be met. I’m a “words of affirmation” type of person so even though this might not mean as much to those who need more actions to prove love, it means the world to someone who needs to hear those things.

My dad has always been supportive of me and all my dreams, no matter how random, crazy, or unrealistic. He tries to temper my excitement with gentle realism sometimes, but most of the time he has nothing but positive supportive words to say to me. At least that is what sticks in my mind. When my dream was (and still sometimes is) to become a world-renowned film producer/director he had nothing but faith. When I decided to move to Texas with little to no money and little to no acquaintances, he had nothing but great things to say about the decision. Even when I changed my mind after almost being a business major so I could take over his business, he was all support, though I am one of the only children to even consider taking the business over. His legacy… Anyway, he was especially supportive of my 10-year-old self who was determined I was going to start my own order of nuns and save everyone’s soul while doing it. Keeping me safe from all the jerks out there was probably at the top of his list of things to do. Now, trying to start my own business or come up with a useful idea to contribute to the world, even struggling with his own mortality, he comes through for me and encourages my free thinking ideas even though he is steadfast in his own. That’s when you know your dad is a keeper, when you can agree to disagree (even in raised excited voices) without blood being spilled.

I’ll keep this format consistent and say: here is another highlight of my work week, going home and trying to figure out dinner. Something I don’t always look forward to if I’ve been more tired lately from work or lack of sleep. However, the best time for me to be inspired is after having some wine or beer depending on the mood I’m in. After this I go into the kitchen find whatever we have and sometimes, not all the time, I’ll have this lightning strike of inspiration and make something incredibly random and delicious. About a month or so ago I made this great pasta. It was *shell pasta (cooked however you like it) *can of diced tomatoes *can of black beans *can of corn *shredded leftover seasoned chicken. For the chicken I’ll use whatever, but that time I used leftover slow cooked southwestern chicken. Then I added leftover southwest seasoning to get all the flavors right and BOOM. Quick easy leftover recipe that makes the evening meal more enjoyable and less tedious.

Fifth day…. My favorite! Its Friday now and I’ve been faithfully working on this post every day per request of the Mystery Ending Challenge. This final day brings me to one of my favorite things in the whole world. Music!! I can only imagine a society without the wonders of musical notes and I’m sure I’ve read a book or two where music just is unheard of but…. I can only imagine and I don’t even like to do that. Music is too much a part of our humanity and my life as a whole. We yearn to be around beautiful things and to create beautiful things, music is one of these things. My boyfriend loves music as well, so there is almost never silence when he is around simply because we share this passion. We like the beats, the feelings and emotions they are able to communicate. The other day he brought this song up, Escape by Kongos(great music video!!). They are a little bit of a newer band, I’m sure if anyone listens to hit radio stations they will recognize the band, maybe not the song.  I’m guessing there was a fan base before they came out on the radio, sadly I was not a part of this group. I’m just jumping on the bandwagon hard-core. This song speaks to my soul though, and encourages me. It talks about escaping and brings the hope that there will be a time when my dreams come true and I can desert this 40 hour work week I dislike so much. It also gives me hope for the future and perspective on the now. Bottom line, I think it fits with the rest of this article given the range of topics.

When the bombs are bursting in the air
And the rockets are making that red glare
I’m heading down
Down to that good hope town – where the weather’s fair
So why don’t you come away
With me my love
We’ll do what it takes
I’ll keep you safe
Why don’t you stay by me
And when the time comes
We’ll escape

Malta

Malta

Leave a Reply

